Find writing contests now!

writers block pic for blog

Find writing contests now!

Rebel Writers,
Welcome to my blog! It’s for people who have always wanted to write for a living, but couldn’t figure out how and when to do it. It’s also for people who have begun to earn some money for freelance and creative writing, but would like to increase their earnings.

I was going to name my blog, “I want to be a writer,” but I decided that, dammit, I am a writer. I just don’t get paid for being a writer and no, my book is not published. So what? That doesn’t change the fact that I wrote the book. That makes me a writer. And, if you have written a short story or a poem or a novel and it is not published, you, too are a writer. An unpaid writer, true, but you are still a writer and it is time for me and for you to own it.

This blog is for you if:

You’ve always loved to write
You would love to do nothing but write and make a living from your writing
You want to write a novel but you don’t know where to start
You can’t decide if you should stick to short stories or novels
You have started at least one novel and abandoned it
You have finished at least one novel and it is still in the bottom drawer with your socks
You have finished your novel and tried to sell it but there were no takers
You self-published your work but you still own all the copies
You want to enter some writing contests, but you don’t have time to look for the best ones
You have a thousand reasons (like me) about why you are not a published author… yet

Today’s jumpstart writing advice: Google “writing contests” and see what’s out there.  Yes, I’m sure you’ve done this before. But today, PICK one contest that is free to enter, and send in your submission. Do it before the end of the day. There’s a link to Poets & Writers at the top of the page to get you started.

Leave a Reply

